Fashion Reading Notes (3)

Another one from fashion reading notes series:D In this post, I am going to write about two books from Danish library and one I received as gift from my boyfrien asked my boyfriend to buy.

1205-3.JPG

Vintage: The Art of Dressing Up

I want to give this one five stars! The writer, Tracy Tolkien, is so knowledgeable about vintage trends and the content is very easy to read. I actually bought a notebook to make notes from this book. There are so many useful information!

1205-5Just like many other book about vintage clothings, it is divided by eras, from 1940s the whole way to 1990s. In each era, she writes not only about clothings, but also accessories, hair and makeup. If some designer are very popular, she will give seperate chapters for them too. 

1205-1

One thing to make the book easy to read,  is there are frames of important informations. Sometimes you can also find a frame claiming the names you should pay attention to while treature hunting, which I found very handy.

1205-6

Different historical pictures make the content interesting too. However, the book was published in 2002, so the vaule she mentioned in the book may have gone through a huge change in the last 19 years.

Rare Bird of Fashion: Iris Apfel

1205-7

I feel kind of guilty that i get to know Iris so late. A book called Advanced Beauty was recommended to me first, and it is such a wonderful book, all about stylish ladies older than 60. Iris is mentioned so many times both in the book and a movie made later about these ladies. As I know, there is also a movie only about her, but I couldn’t get it in the library, so the only thing I found is this book.

1205-8

In the beginning,  there are three articles about Iris. The last one is written by herself, and can be seen as a short biography. She begins with the moment right before she was born until right now, the moment she is looking forward to the future.  I love reading biographies, especially these in funny tones.

Just wait to you see pictures of her house and rooms! Jesus all the colors and the harmony in them!

1205-9

Then the rest of the book is full of pictures, wonderful pictures of incredible stylings. If you love her style, want to learn her styling, just get this book!

`Most people say, take one off, I say add one on`

1205-10

GuoPei: Couture Beyond

1205-11.JPG

How can I discribe the shock I got when I first met Guo Pei´s work? It is like you run into a secret paradise, you admire it while tears falling down. You are touched and don´t know how to express yourself. The only thing you can is to be silent and enjoy every second staring at it.

1205-13

So since I knew this book existed, it was on the top of my wish lists. As usual, it begins with some introduction articles and follows by many photos of her work, both garments, accessories and detail shoot. Once in a while there will be photography shoots, but I personally prefer them on black background, cause the garments themselves are beyond fabulous.

1205-12.JPG

If you search Guo Pei´s name on Youtube, there are many videos about her show and short documentaries. One of them is about both her and legendary model Carmen. The friendship between them is very touching, so I want to include link here :Guopei and Carmen

1205-14

Haute Couture is the highest level fashion, and I don´t really see any chance in my life now to have a chance wearing them. But the beauty of them will always be one things bring me happiness, especially thinking of the millions of hours work and love behind them.

Send you love and have a great Easter holiday!

Christina

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment